Anxiety

I drive past these scenes on the Isle of Man at least once a week, some of them are on my daily driving route. I can’t explain why the locations and the images I produced make me feel uneasy, but they do. One way roads, boarded up buildings, seemingly abandoned caravans and camper vans with hints of habitation all fill me with a strange anxiety and sense of ambiguity…

All images were made using a Fuji GA645 medium format camera and a single roll of Kodak Portra 400 film. The film, which was a couple of years past its expiry date and was poorly stored, has leached print from the backing paper on to the film. If you look carefully, you can see the frame numbers and the word ‘Kodak’ etched into the images.

5 comments

  1. John Jamie Gilman

    Hey Phil I’ve known you for sometime now. Love to meet up again with you love the photos mate. I’m now taking photos got myself a ( Cannon 1300D ) still learning the settings on it but love Photography I just love how photos can capture the funny things & the beauty.

    Like

  2. Dave Gilbert

    Really like all of these. They don’t fill me with anxiety but I now feel the urge to eat something from Heathers Baps. Heathers Baps, finar finar!
    The Portra still looks cool even when expired.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

