The Circle

 

Last month, I had the pleasure of meeting and photographing Stephen Macartney, Peter McVeigh, Katie Richardson and Warren Attwell, four Irish musicians who form part of the Northern Irish Singer-Songwriters Circle. My good friend and music promoter, Jonno Gollow, brought the four over to my hometown of Peel, on the Isle of Man, to hold a songwriters workshop during the day and to a very well attended gig at the Peel Centenary Centre in the evening.
Jonno is singlehandedly responsible for bringing an array of talent to the Island on a regular basis, which is great for music lovers and great for myself because I love to photograph musicians.
I started my photographic career shooting live bands; these days, however, it’s some I do very rarely, if ever, so these images are more of a ‘backstage documentary’.

I captured the day on film, using just one camera, a Nikon F4, and two lenses – 28mm 1.8G and 50mm 1.4G. I used Kodak Ultramax 400 film for the first time, but certainly, not for the last – I adore this film.

9 comments

  1. Pingback: The Circle | O LADO ESCURO DA LUA

  2. A wondersul series of photographs. My favourite is the last one, though I liked them all. And the opening shot is a beauty. There’s something special about the quality of photographs captured on film. I’ve only ever shot digital, (since I got more serious about photography) and I can really see the difference. I have a great admiration for film photography because you only get one chance, or maybe a couple of chances to get the shot.

    Oh I just read the comment above this one. So sorry for your loss.
    Alison

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

