Happy Christmas from The Jungle!

IMG_0506This is a very quick post from Calais to say Happy Christmas! Thank you, everyone, for taking the time to stop-by, it’s very much appreciated.

I’m going to be in The Jungle tomorrow (Christmas Day), sharing the day with people from all over the world – some celebrate Christmas, others don’t, but I’m sure it’s going to be great fun! I’ve been photographing in the camp for over a week now and have been shown nothing but kindness (forgetting one instance of hostility…) I’m not sure what my festive dinner will consist of, but they do a great chicken kebab in one of the Afghan kitchens for just €2 – bargain.

I’m shooting the entire project on film, so it’ll be a while before they are published, but I have been shooting a lot on my iPhone. I’ve also been using a Fuji instant camera, which is a brilliant ‘ice-breaker’ – I’ve already shot 3 packs of film and given every single print away.

Anyway, have a good one, I’ll see you on the other side!
DSCF9108IMG_0510 IMG_0504DSCF9119IMG_0502DSCF9115DSCF9111

11 comments

  1. Have a great Christmas Phil. This is a fantastic project, I am impatient for the results!

    Have you considered shooting Fuji FP-100C and recovering the negatives from the backing “paper”? On projects like this you could still give away the print, and come home with something too.

    Like

  2. A great set as always, the first image is frightening but compelling. I often think of how the women and children are coping in particular (not that they should be anymore important or less important than the men) – but I suppose I relate more (and worry) as a mother. Merry Christmas Phil.

    Like

Leave a Reply

