Cafe Plaza Nueva

DSC_5699The Cafeteria Restaurante Plaza Nueva, Seron, Spain – my office for most of January 2015. I’m heading down to the southern Mediterranean to shoot a project on British Expatriates who are, for one reason or another, living full-time away from their country of origin. I’m not really interested in the people who are living there for ‘one reason’, one reason being the weather. No, I want to meet the people who are possibly hiding there for ‘another’ reason. I have already made a few contacts, most of them are just there for the nice weather and the low cost of living, but these are the people who’ll say, “well, we do know this guy from Manchester…lives just down the road”

Toward the end of January I’ll be heading up the coast to Valencia, via Marbella and Benidorm – my theory being that out of the holiday season, any British people hanging around in either of those two towns is probably up to no good…

DSC_5760 DSC_5695DSC_5765I’m going to be shooting all of the portraits for this project on film, and to the surprise of a few of my photographer friends, I’ll be shooting on 35mm, on a Pentax LX and standard 50mm 1.2 lens. I’ll be taking my digital Nikon system too, because I’ll need to shoot some stock while I’m away, or I’ll be living on beans on toast for the rest of 2015. I’m also taking an Olympus MjuII, for snapshots, and a Fuji Instax and a few packs of instant film for when I’m in an arty mood.

IMG_0012 19563_002-0008 - Version 2 4

andre - Version 2 img762

8 comments

  1. I’m glad to see you do a whole project on film, and with an LX and 50/1.2 no less. I live in Madrid but they do say there are a lot of people down south hiding in the ex-pat colonies, blending in by not speaking a word of Spanish🙂

    If you want your shallow depth of field, you may want to have an ND filter to hand…

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Means, we are in for a real treat🙂

    Wish you good luck with your project and have a great time exploring and photographing Spain.

    These images are simply outstanding and in the first three images, we get a feel of physically being there…

    Thank you so much for sharing….

    Merry Christmas and a Very Happy New Year🙂

    Like

  3. Pingback: Travel | A Quick Guide to Granada | Fashion Bloggers And Style

Leave a Reply

