The Celluloid Closet

img856“Why do you shoot film?” – I get asked that question at least once a week, it’s never easy to explain. I shoot differently when I have a film camera in my hand, everything flows differently, there’s no distraction with looking what you’ve shot, so the whole thing seems to flow better. I think subjects react differently too, I shoot mainly with a Minolta Hi-Matic and a tiny Olympus MjuII, neither of which look in the slightest bit professional, I’m sure that relaxes people, lowers their guard.

I don’t often enjoy looking at my own photos, I think it’s a bit like when you cook a meal yourself, you don’t enjoy eating it as much. But I look at images I’ve made on film and they excite me in a way that my digital work never does.
img073DSC_7941CNV00008-2img348img817Top to bottom – Mju, Mju, Mju, Mju, Holga Pano, Hi-MaticA

ll Agfa Vista 200 35mm film, except last but one which is Kodak Portra 400

 

3 comments

  1. I’d choose film over digital any day. I love how crisp they appear after development. Just as if there was a seemingly different tint between the two ways to take photography. These are great.

    Like

Leave a Reply

