1984

WP_20141014_15_44_36_Pro__highres CNV00006I was 13/14 years old in 1984, my interest in photography hadn’t surfaced and wouldn’t do for another couple of years, but it was the year the Minolta Hi-Matic GF was released. Two years later it was still being produced and had probably sold in its hundreds of thousands, but it wouldn’t have caught my eye, I was in that first stage of photography when I honestly believed that the more expensive the camera, the better your photos would be, so I was probably fantasising about owning a fully tricked-up Nikon F3 or something.

A few weeks ago my good friend, Ciara, bought me a charity shop £4 Hi-Matic GF as part of a bag of birthday goodies, using it has single-handedly rekindled my love of film photography, which I have to say had stagnated over the last few months, it’s now my favourite camera, it goes everywhere with me, literally.

Here’s a few of my favourite images off the first roll of film I shot (£1 a roll Agfa Vista 200)CNV00012 CNV00017 CNV00002 CNV00023 CNV00022 CNV00025 CNV00024 CNV00026 CNV00020 CNV00030 CNV00035 CNV00037 CNV00008 CNV00010CNV00003

12 comments

  1. Very nice – great examples, along with your polaroids, of why it is the photographer that matters, not the gear.

    I will have to keep my eyes open for one of these Minoltas. My re-entry to film came thanks to thrift store purchases of an Olympus Pen half-frame followed by an Olympus XA. The latter goes everywhere with me now, it or an XA2. There are some very nice cameras of this type and vintage. When they came out I was an SLR guy, in as much as I took photos. I wish I had been using something more automatic then, I would have had better results a lot of the time since my Spotmatics were hard to focus and I never paid sufficient attention to shutter speed (I did not know how to use my cameras in other words).

    Like

  2. Paul

    Haven’t read any other comments, its a crime a know sorry. However its 245am ish can’t see straight enough to pass propper comment other than poundland is the muts nuts of the film purchasing world! Beats two for one at Boots!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: “Did you shoot any film?” | Phil Kneen Photography

Leave a Reply

