This week…

DSC_9162-EditI published the above image on my Facebook page a few weeks ago, I really love it, which is why I published it, but it received a few negative comments and was then removed for containing ‘sexually explicit content’, which I found a bit odd. Anyway, it put me off publishing the image again, but my good friend and PA, Ciara, has been nagging me to show it. So here it is, I still love it.

This week I received the final artwork for Simon Campbell’s new album, The Knife, for which I did the photography. I think the whole design looks incredible, I’m proud to have been involved.

SC_The_Knife_gatefold_LP_No_Template_2 SC The Knife 4pp booklet j.indd SC The Knife 4pp booklet j.indd SC_The_Knife_gatefold_LP_No_Template_2

15 comments

  1. I love the picture of the nudes despite what you were told! I do life drawing and the guy who runs the class said I could take pictures of the models – really excited about taking the naked body! Great pics all round.

    Like

  2. I wasn’t going to comment, but the more I’ve thought about it the more it has annoyed me. If you had taken that photograph but of a marble sculpture depicting entwined bodies or a photograph of an oil on canvas version of the same set up do you think Facebook would have censored? I think not. I guess there are some very timid, visually ignorant folks working at Facebook! Appreciating your work. Agnes

    Like

  3. I love the top image. It’s tender and beautiful – and annoying that people keep sensoring your work on facebook.

    Also, I was on the island a week or so ago and had the pleasure of seeing your portrait series at nobles. Was there every day and it made a difference having those fantastic photos on the wall. Bit of a human connection on a quiet weekend.

    Like

  4. I can understand why the image was classified as ‘sexually explicit’ and I can well imagine that many people might have found it offensive, but then there are the other half, (like me), who find it highly creative and a great composition – I really like it.

    Artistic merit is in the eyes of the beholder (and I’m over 60, so age is no barrier to admiring photography of the nude form).

    The artwork for Simon Campbell’s album is brilliant. Stunning compositions and great lighting.

    Like

  5. Liz

    Correct me if I’m wrong here, but if it’s on your FB page ‘Phil Kneen Photography’ I would have thought that most people who view your page are aware that these are artistic photos, yes the photo is sexual and leaves no doubt as to what they might be doing but in the context of being shown on your photography page I also find it a bit odd that it has to be removed. I’d rather see artistic images like this than some of the photos that come up on my FB page……like a photo of what someone’s having for dinner….Now! that’s what I find offensive and should be banned !! LOL PS. Love the album cover Liz

    Like

  6. What is that adage, “You cannot please all of the people all of the time….” Unfortunately, public media seems to stoop to the lowest denominator and to the few who want to restrict others. Everyone should have the right to chose individually to not look by turning it off or closing his/her eyes. But they should not restrict others because they are offended. Hang in there, your work is beautiful.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

