Flirt.

DSC_7389 img756I have a very flirtatious relationship with film photography at the moment, I have film, I have cameras with film in them, but I never really get to use them much, so recently I’ve made a bit more effort. Over the past couple of weeks I’ve been carrying my Fuji Instax 200 on all my shoots, personal and commercial, and making a conscious decision to use it. Every time I shoot instant film, both Fuji Instax and Impossible Project, I always wonder why I don’t use it more – I love it. The contrast between instant film and digital could not be any more extreme – with instant you get what you get, straight out of the camera, you could play with it in post, but what would be the point? There are of course dozens of computer programs that attempt to emulate the look of instant film, but none of them do.

Top and bottom images are digital, I think it’s obvious which are the instants! Both sets of shots were made within 20 minutes of each other over two different shoots.

img755 DSC_7201

One comment

Leave a Reply

