The Holy Grain?

DSCF4176-Edit-4Digital will never replace film, so let’s not get into that. However, I’m always on the look-out for software that can make digital files less sterile looking and…digital. I think I may have found it with VSCO FILM, it’s superb. I haven’t really done much research on the software, as long as it works, I’m happy, but the developers apparently scanned actual film emulsions to get a real grain look. I think it works. Very well.

All the images here were made using a Fuji X-Pro1 digital camera. For anyone using this software, the key to getting good images is to under expose by 1 stop, even more in scenes with a lot of highlight area.

DSCF3521DSCF3381DSCF4048

13 comments

  1. Good post Phil. I agree that digital will not replace film, though a lot of us (amateurs) are almost scared to use that shiny roll of stuff that goes into the back of those old cameras…🙂 whats it called again…?

    Like

  2. annie tasker - villano

    Fantastic! I’ll have to look up the software. Is it expensive?
    Whole heartedly agree with you that digital can never replace film, however we do live in a digital age, so why not ‘beautify’ our digital photography?
    Excellent post re exposing for the software… so as with film underexpose without fear!

    Like

  3. andrea::tognoli

    VSCO is a great software. I use it often, almost always. I told about it here. But sorry is only in italian.
    Have a nice day.

    Like

  4. Viv Boyle

    Digital is toooooo easy just to delete if it just not quite right!! …………to use film correctly you have to think about and know what you are doing to get it right – or you waste a lot of time and money!! – In my opinion!! PS love the cat!! great shot🙂 from your stalker! ha

    Like

  5. Hi Phil,

    I’ve been following your blog for a while and I absolutely love it!
    I just found out about a photography magazine, called Dispose, that only publishes pictures that were taken with disposable cameras.
    I wasn’t sure if you’ve heard about it or not, and I just wanted to share it with you like you’ve shared so many things with us.
    This is the website: http://dispose.co

    Thanks again!

    Like

  6. lsroussel

    wow ! cool software, i run download it, i always lost myself with photoshop with too much grain or not enought but anyway i prefer real film !

    Like

Leave a Reply

