Film is dead, long live film.

IMG_0013

Lightroom 4 and Alien Skin Exposure 4

Lightroom 4 and Alien Skin Exposure 4

I’ve been playing with the Fuji X-Pro1 digital camera and 35mm f1.4 lens for the last couple of days, staunch film users may want to look away, because I’m rather impressed with it…

The X-Pro1 looks good, even if the picture quality was poor I’d want to keep it as a paper-weight, just to sit and look at it. But the picture quality is superb, and that unsettled me.
There are hundreds of places on the internet where you can find reviews on how great this camera is, so I won’t bore you with that. I just wanted to see if I could get a ‘look’, using software, that I liked. I have Lightroom 4 and I downloaded a 30 day trial of DxO film pack – again, I’m impressed. I did nothing in LR4 RAW, except clear-up a few teenage blemishes, and then took the file in to DxO. Within 5 minutes I had an images I was happy with simply by applying a Kodak Portra 160nc preset. I really was that easy.

So, will I be keeping the Fuji and purchasing DxO? Probably. Will I be selling all my film cameras to go back to an all digital kit? NO! I’m not mental! I think we’re still quite a long way off a digital ‘film killer’ for now…

Screen Shot 2013-05-01 at 09.54.24

RAW file in Lightroom 4

Screen Shot 2013-05-01 at 09.57.05

Kodak Portra 160 ‘look’ in DxO film pack

Jess

20 comments

  1. As I wrote before, my friend, I got a X100 for a good price and I’ve been using it almost everyday… Like you, I’m not ready to give up film but I needed a digital option. And I did exactly the same, Lightroom and Alien Skin plug in. The results are very good for a compact camera and in many situations it is replacing my 35mm film cameras however… I’m going out right this minute but I’ll take my Leica CL along.🙂

    Like

  2. I can’t say enough good things about Alien Skin, always preferred their approach to film simulation to DxO’s. Plus, in my experience, they’re a bunch of great people who care about their customers.
    Nik is Google’s now, not dead. If I remember correctly they recently gave away all their plugins to licence owners of one or more of their plugins. Their selling it dirt cheap now.

    And now you made me start thinking of Fuji again…. ohdear

    Like

    • Absolutely. The X-Pro1 focus is prehistorically slow, the control panel is over complicated and the LCD screen, for all it’s rave reviews, isn’t that great.
      I was initially disappointed with the camera…until I looked at the files, they are beyond impressive.

      Like

  3. Joe Corn

    Film or digital, your photography is superb, Phil. Have you considered writing a book? Your writing is also very entertaining!

    Like

  4. Hey Phil. I just bought analog camera and I have to admit that it’s way more photographic experience for me, than with digital.
    I’m taking my first steps with analog photography, and I really enjoy reading you blog. Can’t wait to read the rest of it.

    Best regards.
    Dawid

    Like

  5. The Voice of Reasoning

    What a pile of talentless shite. You think think that putting a few effects on a medocre raw file makes you a good photographer? WRONG. Try learning the basics of photography before you try and run, Phil.

    Like

Leave a Reply

