Home again.

Rush hour, up north...

Rush hour, up north…


Duncan Lake

Duncan Lake

All the images here were shot on a Canon G15 digital compact camera (which I picked-up in Toronto for CAN$399. The cheapest UK price I can find is £429, so I’m thinking I got a bit of a bargain) I’m actually quite liking this little camera…

So, that’s another shoot over. Two and a half weeks and 79 rolls of film later, I’m back home, the films have been sent off to be developed at Peak Imaging and I’m recovering from the 2 days of travelling back across Canada and the Atlantic. Once I have the negatives back, it’ll take we a week or so to scan and catalogue everything, so there won’t be any film images for a while, but do watch this space…

These images are just a few of my favourites that I picked out – good times.

Dave Hysert

Dave Hysert

The view from the cockpit of a DC3, heading south to Hay River over the vast, frozen Great Slave Lake.

The view from the cockpit of a DC3, heading south to Hay River over the vast, frozen Great Slave Lake.

Buddy

Pablo Saravanja - Filmmaker, photographer, artist and man-about-town.

Pablo Saravanja – Filmmaker, photographer, artist and man-about-town.

Sunset over my last day in Yellowknife

Sunset over my last day in Yellowknife

IMG_0085

15 comments

  1. -27 is tolerable if you dress right😉 some of my friends who shoot around here in the winter just keep a scarf around their camera to keep it warm. It’s the -40’s up and with the windchill that makes me irate but it’s usually not as windy that far north so that’s a bonus!

    Like

  2. Out of interest Phil- why the canon? I don’t mean that in a “gear/love/hate/tech/yawn” thing, but more as, well what do you do in that situation, when your main camera breaks and your on a trip. I know what I’d do, and it would involve booze, which probably wouldn’t help much! Great photos, especially the black dog.

    Like

    • I wanted a small digital camera to use as a sort of notebook, after a lot of research, the G15 seemed to fit the bill.
      The G15 was never intended as a backup camera for the Mamiya 7II. If I hadn’t been able to fix mine, I had another one lined-up to borrow (actually a Bronica 6×7)

      Like

Leave a Reply

