Hong Kong Delight

 

img195

For the last couple of weeks I’ve been shooting with a Holga 120 PAN 6x12cm film camera. I like the 6×12 format, but can’t really justify the £4000 for a secondhand Linhoff version. This Chinese incarnation of the camera is all plastic, including the lens, and cost a mere £69.
I’ve had varying degrees of success it – I can’t quite work-out what the closest focus distance actually is? In the instructions it says 1 metre on one page and 1.5 meters on another. I used Kodak Tri-X 400 film for all of these shots.

I was going to take this camera to Canada with me next week, but I’m not sure now…

holga_120_PAN_panoramic_cameraimg197img204img206img208img198

17 comments

  1. rebelsatellite

    Greetings from Mexico Phil and thank you for letting me know something like this even exists! A friend gave me her Holga 120 recently, and along with a Fuji instax 100 I bought from ebay, has totally changed my approach to photography. Your blog has been really insightful.

    Cheers!

    R.S.

    Like

  2. rebelsatellite

    Hi Phil,

    I’m about to buy this camera. But I was wondering a couple of things… does this camera take any old 120 film? And how many shots can you get from a roll?

    Many thanks!

    Like

Leave a Reply

