One-way trip to Yellowknife.

1

There’s only one road in to Yellowknife, highway 3, and I suspect it’s a one-way trip for most vehicles. There appears to be abandoned cars around every corner, yet somehow they don’t look ugly.
I’m kind of indifferent about cars, for me they’re just a means of getting from A to B, but during a 3 week stay in Yellowknife last September I managed to photograph more than 50 of them. Most of the vehicles look dead and some of them look as though they should be dead, to be honest. I think most Yellowknifers share my sentiment, when it comes to cars.

All the images were made using a Mamiya 7II, 80mm lens and Fuji Pro 400H film.

***ALL IMAGES ARE COPYRIGHT PHIL KNEEN. I ALWAYS INVOICE FOR UNAUTHORISED USE***

234678 9 10 11 12 13 14 1516 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31

***ALL IMAGES ARE COPYRIGHT PHIL KNEEN. I ALWAYS INVOICE FOR UNAUTHORISED USE***

3 comments

  1. Hi Phil,
    I’ve been following your blog for a while. I love all your work, you seem to capture the essence of whatever or whoever it is you are taking a photo of. I am the designer for an online photography magazine in Australia and we are interested in featuring this series. Please take a look at the magazine (excerptmagazine.com) and e-mail me if you are interested.

    Like

Leave a Reply

