Against the Wall

Alex

I took a medium format film camera and flash to a New Years Eve party, probably not a great idea when you take into account my propensity to lose/break equipment while under the influence, but I’m glad I did. I shot all these images within about 2 hours, but decided to stop when I started loading film back to front…
I photographed on a Mamiya 7II rangefinder camera and a Vivitar 285 flash. All the photographs were made in almost complete darkness, the only time I saw the expression on the subjects face is when I fired the shutter and saw them illuminated by flash through the rangefinder window. Direct flash is never flattering, and I don’t think these are flattering portraits, but are my portraits ever?

Film is either Fuji Pro 400H or Fuji Superia 400 for colour and Kodak Tri-X for mono.

Dave

Trevor

Lauren

Matt

Richard

Nicola

Jane

Kris

Jess

9 comments

  1. Great images – I understand where you’re coming from with direct flash, but it seems to have only gone to enhance these images – they are of a moment, NYE, and are summarising that evening, not the people your photographing. (And they all seem relatively sober!) The second and fourth shots are my favourites!🙂

    Like

  2. Jan

    Not sure what these people look like in real life, but on your portraits they look REAL. You’ve mastered the art of ‘cool, trendy, Phil Kneen photography’ and I love your images. They are always yours whoever is in them.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 19,631 other followers

