Mono

Bonzo, Port St Mary (Mamiya 7II, 80mm, Kodak TMX)

I’ve been taking photos, on and off, mainly on, for the last 25 years and I still can’t quite get my head around black and white film. I’ll see the work of another photographer and think ‘Right, that’s it, I’m only shooting mono from now-on because their photos look so damned good’, I then load a couple of cameras up with Kodak T-Max or Fuji Neopan and off I go. I don’t think I’ve ever shoot more than a couple of rolls at a time though, in fact, I have actually ripped mono films out of cameras halfway through a roll because I’ve just got bored of it. Bored before I’ve even seen the pictures. Mono shots never turn-out the way I see them, not even close sometimes.

I’ve just loaded a Mamiya 7II medium format and a Nikon compact with Kodak Tri-X. Let’s see how this pans-out…

PS – I was going to write an article about my new Think Tank camera bag, but do people really care that much about bags?. It is a damn nice bag though.

Huw and Mel of S.C.U.M (Leica M4p, 35mm, Kodak TMX)

2 comments

  1. Nice read as always Phil, I have kind of gone the other way at the moment. Every time I shoot colour I am a little disappointed. I would imagine that, as usual, this is me down to not knowing what the hell I am doing.
    I am looking forward to seeing your B+W results.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 10,816 other followers

