Weight Problems.

DSC_0590I’ve been shooting on the Nikon D800E and 35mm 1.4G for the past couple of weeks, it’s a great camera and an amazing lens, although my switch to Nikon from Canon did upset a few of my photographer friends! For the last year I’ve worked without a digital SLR, shooting mainly on a Fuji X-Pro1 and a single 35mm lens, it’s a fantastic camera, but it has its limitations, the main one being the rather ‘eccentric’ focusing. The Nikon autofocus is amazingly fast and the 35mm 1.4G is razor-sharp, even wide open. The only downside is the weight – I don’t think it’s a coincidence that I’m hobbling around the house with a slipped disc in my back, a problem I haven’t had for about…a year.

All the images here were shot with the Nikon D800E/35mm 1.4G and edited using Lightroom 5 and VSCO software.

DSC_1221 DSC_0573 DSC_1171 DSC_0469-Edit-Edit DSC_1142

24 comments

  1. Great photos! I recently swapped from a very heavy and sturdy Pentax K10D to a Nikon D3200. I have used Nikon film slr’s in the past and have always loved them. The D3200 is extremely light – necessary when you carry it 20 odd miles in a day – the Pentax was just too heavy. And the Nikon has a 24mp sensor.

  2. Excellent work. Some years back I switched from a Konica-Minolta 7D to Nikon (D300 at the time). While the Nikon was an order of magnitude better the weight stunned me. And, since I seldom am out without the camera in hand, after a year or two I developed terrible tendinitis in my shooting arm and had to switch to carrying the camera left-handed. After physical therapy I bought a mirrorless camera (the Sony NEX-7). While the Sony is nowhere near as “pro” as the Nikon and has a number of annoying quirks (particularly the ease with which you can unknowingly knock the EV or ISO off it’s setting and sometimes iffy focusing) the difference in weight means I seldom use the Nikon gear anymore (and I’m very interested in Fuji’s latest offerings). Good luck whichever way you decide to go.

  3. Wonderful portraits…I’m debating switching to Nikon from Canon when I upgrade my equipment, but I haven’t decided (I won’t need to for a while, given the cost!) :) I’ll be curious to hear your thoughts on the comparison.

  4. I chase people’s art who know how to use light and are unafraid of it. But the strength of your work is in the shadows. My eyes are drawn to the shadows. I’m not even sure that makes sense. Beautiful.

  5. Love your portraits! You have an amazing ability to capture natural facial expressions and find perfect lighting. I definitely know what you mean about the weight issue – my main camera is an original Canon 5D, but I recently bought a Fujifilm X100S after lugging around my 5D and two lenses on a recent trip through Europe…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 13,234 other followers

