Coming Up For Air…

DSCF4019Manx music legend, Davy Knowles, is back on the Isle of Man and I had the pleasure of spending the day with him, shooting portraits around various locations. Davy, who now lives and works out of Chicago, is back on home soil to perform a gig at The Gaiety Theatre in Douglas. (Try and get tickets, but I think they sold-out pretty fast!)
I’ve photographed Davy a few times over the last few years, the first time was at the end of his European tour when he played at The Heineken Area in Amsterdam alongside the likes of Joe Satriani and Sonny Landreth. Although I’ve taken hundreds of photos of Davy, I’ve never been 100% happy with the results, I’m not sure Davy has either, but this latest session was different, I think our biorhythms must have been in tune, because I couldn’t be happier with the results.
DSCF4115-Edit DSCF3976-Edit-Edit

________________________________________________

“If your pictures aren’t good enough, you aren’t close enough” – Robert Capa

We’ve had some pretty spectacular winter storms here on the Isle of Man, cancelling the ferries and causing the usual chaos. I had taken a few photographs of the waves, in my home town of Peel, from the comfort of my van, but they really weren’t doing this maritime display of force any justice. So, I dashed home, put my Canon G15 into an underwater housing and walked the 100 metres from my house to the promenade. By the time I got there the police and civil defence had blocked-off both ends to stop vehicles, but they didn’t appear to be that bothered about me wandering around. I stayed on the prom’ for about 15 minutes before my hands became too cold to operate the camera, I walked back up my street, soaked to the skin and got into a hot bath.

Robert Capa was right though…
IMG_2112IMG_2013IMG_2096IMG_2022 IMG_2033 IMG_2035 IMG_2054 IMG_2068 IMG_2072 IMG_2083 IMG_2107IMG_2112-Edit-Edit

23 comments

  1. Pingback: Photo Of The Day - Page 128 - London Fixed-gear and Single-speed

  2. The color is great here. Usually, I see black and white photos of storm activity, but these are beautiful in color. Somehow, the color enhances them in a way that BW could not. Wonderful images!

  3. the photos of Davy Knowles are awesome…far better than the one on his website… :) Love the storm photos you definitively were close and it was well worth the effort!

  4. Pingback: Autumn scene | Radu Stefan's Photo Club

  5. Pingback: Urban rooftops | Radu Stefan's Photo Club

  6. Pingback: [Photo album] Urban rooftops | Radu Ștefan prezintă: Blogu' cu de toate

  7. Pingback: [Photo album] Autumn scene | Radu Ștefan prezintă: Blogu' cu de toate

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 13,028 other followers

