All for one…

DSCF2702

This week I photographed JC Callister for my upcoming project that will document estranged fathers. I used JC as a bit of an experiment to decide what camera format I’d be shooting the series on, these are the results. I’m very single-minded when it comes to shooting a project, once I’ve started I have to stick to the same camera, the same lens, and where possible, the same film.
The shots here were made using (top to bottom) Fuji X-Pro1/35mm, Pentax 67/90mm/Kodak Portra 400 film and Canon G15 digital compact. I converted the digital images to mono using VSCO software. I like all three formats, but at the moment I’m leaning more toward the last shoot, which I think best conveys the mood of this project…but I love shooting on film too.

Decisions, decisions…

DSCF2648IMG_1694

Follow me on FACEBOOK for regular project updates.

10 comments

  1. Stunning, really looking forwards to this series. As with every great series, though there is a lot of work going on beneath the surface, within the images themselves, the camera has vanished. Brilliant.

  2. I like the last I think. Being more environmental.
    That is what I struggle with, not being able to stay focused on one thing, one project and start it and see it through. How do you do it?

  3. Once again it is a pleasure to get a glimpse of your methods and the thought and preparation that goes into your work.
    I like the last two best for the estranged part of the project, and prefer the contemplative aspect of the middle one. I don’t have a strong preference for any one of the formats though – they all work well. Weak preference for the middle shot.

  4. Gonna go slightly against the grain here…(no pun intended) I think the middle choice details the subject well, the last is my perhaps ‘overall’ choice for the topic but it’s a tight choice. The framing and setting of the last location is so relevant.

  5. all your photos say something, but keeping in mind this series is about estranged fathers I have to go with the third one…definitely has a morose, conflicted, unhappy feeling

  6. Ooooo, that’s an interesting subject. Really look forward to seeing the results.

    The third photo does convey a particular mood, but is that really a result of film vs. digital, or more a matter of composition and technical stuff (exposure settings, iso, yaddayadda)?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 13,234 other followers

