Show and tell.

DSCF9635I’m always surprised, but certainly not disappointed, how willing people are to be photographed. I’m a bit of a hypocrite really; I hate having my photograph taken, so I think I subconsciously expect everyone else to hate it too. But they don’t. The projects I’m shooting at the moment on scars and tattoos often involve subjects who are complete strangers, a lot of them women, but these people invite me into their homes, make me cups of tea and share their lives. I love it!

DSCF9592DSCF9543DSCF9646

Images -
Pentax 67/Kodak Portra 400
Leica R6/Kodak Tri-X 400
Leica R6/Kodak Tri-X 400
Fuji X-Pro1/VSCO(Fuji 800Z++)

22 comments

  1. And see I have the opposite problem. I considered doing candid shots of people for my final photography project but I had two volunteers and I needed at least 7 pictures so I just ended up shooting old, falling apart equipment and buildings on a farm. I do enjoy these shots as well, especially the first one – not something you see every day.

  2. I think what I like most about your work is how it reveals people in a way you wouldn’t ordinarily see. Even when you can’t see their face, their body language or context of the photo still reveals and captures them in a real personal way. Plus, your tag line “I shoot people” cracks me up.

    Nicely done, Phil.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 11,936 other followers

