The Yellowknife Diaries (part 3)

Graffiti, Yellowknife (Mamiya 7II, 80mm, Kodak Ektar 100 film)

I don’t enjoy flying, I’m a big man and I get uncomfortable, even on short flights. I also get bored. So, there’s nothing I like more, after a long flight, than to get to my destination and have a few refreshing beers to help me relax…

Sunday 9th September ’12 - Arrive in Yellowknife.

We land in Yellowknife at about 2pm. As soon as we get off the plane I need a pee, Trevor says I’m like a child and tells me he’ll get the bags while I empty my bladder. On the way out of the airport I stop at a vending machine to get a drink, I select the first thing that catches my eye, maybe because it has the word ‘beer’ in it’. I take one sip and declare root beer to be the most disgusting thing I’ve tasted, Trevor agrees. The root beer goes in the bin.

A taxi takes us into town, the driver says not one word, despite my best efforts to engage him in conversation. When we arrive at the B&B there doesn’t appear to be anyone home, but eventually the landlady, Faith Embleton, comes to the door and lets us in. Faith takes us to our room and gives us an introduction, which is basically a list of rules – no shoes in the house, always use the extractor fan when cooking and no visitors, which I presume means ‘no prostitutes’. We unpack our stuff and go upstairs to find-out where the nearest drinking establishment is. Faiths answer is, to say the very least, horrifying – “Well, there’s plenty of bars in town, all within walking distance, and there’s the bowling ally just two minutes walk from here…but there’s nowhere open today, it’s Sunday”….Sweet Gentle Jesus, you can’t buy booze in Yellowknife on a Sunday! I could cry. Faith tells us that you can get booze if you’re having a meal, but the cost of your booze can’t be more than the cost of your meal. I think I’m going to have to eat a huge amount of pizza.

We walk the 5 minutes into town, the light here is amazing. On the way to The Boston Pizza Restaurant we see at least 3 people staggering down the road, drunk. The alcoholics in Yellowknife are obviously very good at forward planning. Over dinner we agree that tomorrow we’ll find a supermarket and stock-up on food. I’ll be finding a liquor store and stocking-up on beer, ready for next Sunday”

All content on this site is subject to copyright. If you do download or use any of this content, in any way, I will find you and I will see you in court…

6 comments

  1. Great post!! I love the first photo and the scale if your shadow compared to the rocky terrain. I also very much enjoyed your writing and the stories behind your photographs. Root beer tastes disgusting to me too lol :)

  2. Northern Light

    I look forward to your posts so much! Your writing style and photography match each other perfectly, and both are superb. Keep it up!

  3. What?! Root beer is like mother’s milk in North America! Why, here in the U.S. we have an entire chain of fast food restaurants dedicated to its propagation! ;D

    I like the second image; the yellow trees do the trick. Also: sweet ride.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 12,757 other followers

