Pikey Racing

All images made on a Mamiya 7II with 80mm lens using Kodak Portra 160 film.

 

6 comments

  1. pictogrammer

    Hi Phil, lovely shots as always. I have a quick question for you.

    I also use Kodak Portra 160 with my Bronica ETR-Si and get the film developed and scanned. It seems like my scans never have the lovely ‘muted’ colours that yours do (and that I expect from the Portra film). I’m wondering if you do any post processing to the scans in order to get this lovely muted tonal range, or is my scanner adding some correction to the scans itself? I use an Epson V500 perfection scanner, do you know if there are any tips or settings that I need to edit?

    Chris

  2. Hi Chris, thanks for looking!

    I have all my films developed and scanned to 25mb at Peak Imaging in Sheffield. The ‘raw’ scans are always over-sharpened and over-saturated and over-contrasty, so the first thing I do is reduce those in Apple’s Aperture 3. I also find that increasing the brightness(not the exposure) helps to bring back the Portra look. Play around with the sliders, and remember that ‘less is more’, even very subtle changes will make a huge difference.

    The best way to get an accurate gauge of what you’re getting from your film is to select 3 or 4 images and have them hand printed, you can then use these to calibrate your scans.

    Hope that helps?

  3. Funky Lady 68

    Your photos remind me of the Work of Tom Craig,Ben Roberts and a lot of the ‘new breed’ of documentary photographers.
    What you’ve done here,for me personally,is create a story in three amazing images – that takes a huge amount of skill and talent.

    You are quickly becoming my favorite photographer, Phil.

  4. The Watcher, Watching.

    These are real top-end documentary images, these and a lot of your others. Some pretty great writing too.

    Phil, do you have an agent?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 13,022 other followers

