Photographically gay.

click image to enlarge

It hasn’t gone unnoticed that I photograph men more than women, friends of friends have inquired as to my sexual orientation, many times. I’m straight. But men are generally easier to photograph than women.

This is a shot I took of Lockett Somerville at is home in Ramsey. This isn’t the actual shot I went for, I’ll post that soon, but I do like this out-take. I lit Lockett with a single Bowens Streamlite with another smaller Streamlite to fill the shadows at the back of the room.

*Update – A few people have asked me to explain why I prefer shooting men, so I will. It’s not that I prefer shooting men, it’s just that the process is easier. Blokes aren’t as bothered about cosmetic appearance, so the shoot can be a lot more spontaneous, which is how I like to work. The shot below of Simon CampbellĀ  is a good example – we arrived at the studio at 2pm, before I’d even set-up the lights, I was ready, got the shot and left the studio by 2.30pm. Ladies inherently take longer because there’s the hair and the make-up and then the demands to see EVERY single shot that’s taken.

I also think…well, I know, that women are a lot more ‘choosy’ about the final image, less accepting of those crows feet and bags under the eyes. Men, as a rule, don’t care as much. I’d love to get more ladies into the studio, believe me! They look a hell of a lot nicer than blokes.I have, of course, photographed extremely vane men and cosmetically confident women, so all this is generalisation.

WANTED – females who know what they look like for free portrait sitting. No Photo Shop.

 

 

2 comments

  1. I’m the opposite and shoot more girls. Maybe cause I’m a girl and it’s easier to relate, at least in terms of directing them, in girly body movement/placement. Guys – it’s harder. But I am trying too, to shoot them more.

  2. we are fractions

    It is interesting to hear that because I’ve had the complete opposite experience. I’ve actually found male models just as challenging because they tend to have a female mentality (which is a generalization). I think it depends on who you are shooting and their level of comfort and self confidence. The majority of my female friends do not fall into the category of finicky women and are rather relaxed when having their photograph taken. The make-up and hair dilemma is not one you can solve unless you arrive after all of that is done. Maybe you need to shoot a different type of woman?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 13,592 other followers

