Regrets, I’ve had a few…

Yes, I have a few regrets, but I tend not to dwell on them,I do have two though that I simply can’t shake…

The first one is leaving my camera bag in a hire car in an unsecured car park by the Dordogne River while I went kayaking. The bag contained a Nikon F100 with 50mm lens and a Leica M6 ttl with 35mm lens. By the time I’d returned, two hours later, the door lock had been forced and £4000 of equipment had vanished, whisked off into the French countryside. With the insurance money I bought another brace of Leicas and a couple of lenses. In 2004 I sold all my 35mm gear soon after I bought my first digital SLR. That was my second regret.

I’m thinking that 2012 might be the year I complete the full circle and sell most of my digital gear and return to using film for the majority of my work, go back to making images instead of just taking photos.

The shot below was the last photograph I took before I sold my 35mm gear and went digital…

Jonny Frost, circa May 2004 (image made on a Leica M6, 35mm f2 and Ilford HP5 film)

One comment

  1. Gary Farnham

    Phil, I’ve spent the last 2 hours visiting your Flickr site and reading your blog, your work is amazing! Why have I never sen your work? You must be one of the most underrated photographers in the UK, if not the world.

    Thank you for sharing your photographs and your thoughts.

    Gary.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 12,620 other followers

