Six by Seven

All images taken on a Mamiya 7II, 80mm lens and Kodak Portra 400 film.

I got my first batch of film back from www.peak-imaging.com today, 5 rolls of Kodak Portra 400. For a 400 ISO film, the sharpness and low grain is fantastic. Peak have done an amazing job with the developing and scanning too, and at £15 a roll to develop and scan to disc (25mb files) it’s pretty good value. I certainly won’t be bothering to scan my own negs from now on.

This is the kind of photography I love – the photographs I take because I like them. These images are as they came out of the camera. No editing, cropping or post production of any kind.

3 comments

  1. I’ve just emigrated to Australia from the UK, and I’ve found the cost of developing and scanning to be quite horrendous in Sydney. I hope I find a good local place soon, because the thought of buying a scanner and doing it myself fills me with dread. Last time I did this, I spent all my time fiddling with the scanner instead of out shooting :(

    • Yeah, I feel your pain! I was spending £17 for a develop and scan, when you’re shooting project using 30, 40, 50+ rolls of film, it gets expensive!
      I’m now paying £4.13 for developing and scanning my own. The V700 software is great, I’ve got proof scans (2mb) on a full roll of 645 down to less than 5 minutes. Although a full print/exhibition scan and edit can take hours using Vuescan.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 11,935 other followers

