Film – it’s the new black…and white…and colour.

The image above was made using a film camera, a Mamiya 7II, 80mm lens and Kodak Tri-X film. There’s a look to film, a tone and depth, that you simply can not reproduce with digital.

I started off using film with an Olympus OM10 and 50mm 1.8 that my Dad brought back from Saudi Arabia when I was 16, I loved that camera. I’ve gone full circle – Film, then digital, and back to film. Most professional photographers working on personal projects use film, it’s a fact. I still use digital for most of my commercial work, but for my own projects – film rules.

Over the next few weeks I’m going to share my film related musings – my favourite cameras, lenses and, not surprisingly, FILM!

The image below was shot on my favourite colour film – Kodak Portra 160 roll film

3 comments

  1. Hi Phil,
    As a true photographer, you not only capture the subject, but the environment as well and you make your audience see what you’re feeling, just as you have snapped your shot. Truly inspiring work, keep it up!!!

    I appreciate your ‘Like’ and curious as to how you found my site Photography By Dan Orr? Also, what got your attention the most and why?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 13,092 other followers

